Life as an Introvert

Overall, I am a pretty quiet person.  I have always been more of a listener than a talker.  Over the years, with the best of intentions, friends have tried to coax me out of my shell.  Then, during those rare times when my brain and my mouth actually worked together in harmony, I overwhelmed people with the quantity, intensity, and speed of my thought process.  Although my tendency to be so quiet is sometimes frustrating and unsettling to the people around me, at least they don’t worry about my sanity when I’m quiet.  So, for years, I took the safer road and didn’t talk much.

The safe road has been fascinating.  I’m quiet, have good eye contact, and am an intent listener.  I have a way of putting people at ease…or maybe I make them uncomfortable…either way, I tend to have an “effect” on people.  People spill their guts to me.  I’m not just talking about friends.  I’m talking about acquaintances…and complete strangers. 

What has struck me most over the years of listening to people is how alone each person feels in whatever it is they are experiencing or have experienced in the past.  I have become, over the years, a walking encyclopedia of second-hand human experience.  Probably hundreds of people have confided their secrets to me…and not a single secret has shocked me.  Well, I take that back.  The extent of the physical, sexual, and emotional abuse so many people have endured shocks me.

The downside of being such a good listener is that I never learned to fully share myself with other people.  After hearing so many stories, my story didn’t feel as compelling, interesting, or worthwhile as other people’s stories.  I gave into my childhood tendency of empathizing with other people to the detriment of embracing and validating my own experience.  Fortunately, I finally found a good therapist and over the course of almost two years of therapy (twice a week), I told my story to another person.

I finally allowed another person to listen to me.  I finally took center stage, even though I don’t like being the center of attention.  I shared my issues with someone else.  Unlike the people I’ve listened to over the years, I knew I was not alone.  Instead, I had to learn how to stop discounting my own experiences just because they weren’t always as horrible as other people’s experiences.  The traumas I experienced growing up in no way pushed the boundaries of human experience, but they were traumatic to me.  They hurt me, disabled me, and affect me to this day.

7 Responses to Life as an Introvert

  1. KUDOS to you for pushing yourself out of your comfort zone and sharing with another good listener!

    You have all kinds of crazy, fun growth ahead of you now!

  2. cindydating says:

    Thanks! I completely agree.

    I am posting a series of more serious posts, not because I am in a serious mood, but because I want to provide some needed back-story. Some of the things I want to talk about on my blog will make better sense with more context/history.

  3. Yes, and it is good to blog about your past because sometimes we all need to see just HOW FAR we have come!

  4. cindydating says:

    I agree. Sometimes it’s hard to see how far we’ve come in our lives. Success in school and work is easier to measure…we get degrees, raises, better jobs, at least that’s the general trend over time (hopefully!).

    But with relationships and life in general, there are no easy ways to measure your progress. For me I become aware of my progress when I read things I wrote a long time ago or see someone I haven’t seen in a long time. Those are the moments when I realize how much I’ve grown.

  5. […] I wrote in a previous post, I am an introvert.  There are few people with whom I have felt comfortable enough to be honest about what I am […]

  6. attainingme says:

    Wow. As I start to get to know you via your blog, I find it very hard to imagine you as an introvert, introspective, yes, introvert, no.
    I have a friend, Jack, who is a writer and a professor. He is someone I find myself babbling too, telling everything too . . he seems to be like you in this respect. I always am in awe at how perceptive he is, how we elicits my verbal diarrhea.

    I always wish he would share more. I try and get him to, but somehow the conversation always goes back to me.

    I think you need to remember that some of us, who are not so fortunate as to be the recipient of everyone’s truths, truly feel great when someone shares with us. It helps us trust them. It establishes a bond. For example, if someone asks me a favor, I see it as the greatest gift, especially if they are someone that hates asking favors . . .

    I totally applaud you in this.

  7. Cindy Thomas says:

    AttainingMe: Thanks for sharing your perspective on this. I needed to hear what it’s like being on the other side of the equation.

    A few years ago, a male friend told me that being friends with me was frustrating at times…because I am hard to read. I’ve been told I’m hard to read at times, but I was completely shocked to hear that this was frustrating to another person. He is the only male friend I’ve ever had.

    For some reason, I tend to be more comfortable around and open with women. Once I get comfortable with someone (at least other women), they would NEVER guess I was an introvert.

    I think one of the things coming into play here is my comfort level. I am an introvert until or unless I am around people with whom I feel comfortable. I still don’t feel totally “comfortable” around my own family. They don’t know who I am. And it takes me a loooong time to become comfortable around men. I think that’s one thing I like about Harley. I’ve had 6 months to get to know him from a safe distance. The one time so far we’ve had uninterrupted conversation, I told him about one of my dreams.

    This is all coming full circle. I just posted on your blog about NOT sharing my dreams with people. Harley gave me a ride home a couple of weeks ago and I told him about my writing and one of the things I am trying to accomplish with it. I had totally forgotten about that specific conversation until now.

    Thank you for your insight. And thank you for sharing your writing with the world. I am blown away by how helpful the blogging process is…and how helpful other people can be. I guess this is what I’ve been missing out on as an introvert. Now that I am sharing and trusting, people are able to help me in ways that were not possible before.

Leave a comment